DKP 2.2.2 Release Notes

View release-specific information for DKP 2.2.2

D2iQ® Kommander® version 2.2.2 was released on July 7th, 2022.

NOTE: You must be a registered user and logged on to the support portal to download this product. New customers must contact their sales representative or sales@d2iq.com before attempting to download or install DKP.

Release summary

Welcome to D2iQ Kubernetes Platform (DKP) 2.2.2! This release provides new features and enhancements to improve the user experience, fix reported issues, integrate changes from previous releases, and maintains compatibility and support for other packages used in Kommander.

DKP 2.2.x supports Kubernetes versions between 1.21.0 and 1.22.x. Any cluster you want to attach using DKP 2.2.x must be running a Kubernetes version in this range.

Supported versions

Kubernetes Support Version
Minimum 1.21.0
Maximum 1.22.x
Default 1.22.8

Fixes and Improvements

Added Continuous Deployment(CD)/Gitops to the View role

The CD/Gitops resource was added to the ‘View’ clusterRole, so that users with only this permission can view the CD/Gitops resources.

Fixed containerd vulnerability (COPS-7531)

DKP packages now include updated containerd and FIPS manifests, mitigating a known containerd vulnerability.

Updated Azure support to fix an issue with specifying Additional Tags (COPS-7346)

The Cluster API Azure (CAPZ) support was updated to resolve a race condition that could prevent the creation of additional resource tags.

Updated Traefik Forward Auth to support ‘clusterStorage’ option. (COPS-7344)

The Traefik Forward Auth (TFA) component was updated to support storing of session cookies in-cluster instead of in the browser.

Kiali Platform Application not working properly (COPS-7336)

An installation issue that caused the Kiali platform application to malfunction has been corrected.

Updated Dex CRDS (COPS-7341)

The DEX Custom Resource Definitions used for configuring LDAP have been updated to include the correct syntax.

DKP custom credentials plugin restored (COPS-7343)

The mesosphere/dex-k8s-authenticator docker container now includes the appropriate binaries that allow users to download the referenced ‘konvoy-async-plugin’ after configuring a cluster using an external IDP for authentication.

Component and Application updates

When upgrading to this release, the following services and service components are upgraded to the listed version:

Components

  • CAPPPVersion = “v0.8.3”
  • CAPZVersion = “v1.3.1”
  • Containerd 1.4.13
  • KIB v1.17.2

Applications

Common Application Name APP ID Version Component Versions
Centralized Grafana centralized-grafana 33.1.6 - chart: 33.1.6
- prometheus-operator: 0.54.1
Centralized Kubecost centralized-kubecost 0.23.3 - chart: 0.23.3
- kubecost: 1.91.2
Cert Manager cert-manager 1.7.1 - chart: 1.7.1
- cert-manager: 1.7.1
Chartmuseum chartmuseum 3.6.2 - chart: 3.6.2
- chartmuseum: 3.6.2
Dex dex 2.9.18 - chart: 2.9.18
- dex: 2.31.0
Dex K8s Authenticator dex-k8s-authenticator 1.2.9 - chart: 1.2.9
- dex-k8s-authenticator: 1.2.2
DKP Insights Management dkp-insights-management 0.1.6 - chart: 0.1.6
- dkp-insights-management: 0.1.6
External DNS external-dns 6.2.7 - chart: 6.2.7
- external-dns: 0.11.0
Fluent Bit fluent-bit 0.19.20 - chart: 0.19.20
- fluent-bit: 1.8.13
Gatekeeper gatekeeper 3.7.0 - chart: 3.7.0
- gatekeeper: 3.7.0
Gitea gitea 5.0.6 - chart: 5.0.6
- gitea: 1.16.6
Grafana Logging grafana-logging 6.22.0 - chart: 6.22.0
- grafana: 8.3.6
Grafana Loki grafana-loki 0.33.1 - chart: 0.33.1
- loki: 2.2.1
Istio istio 1.11.6 - chart: 1.11.6
- istio: 1.11.5
Jaeger jaeger 2.29.0 - chart: 2.29.0
- jaeger: 1.31.0
Karma karma 2.0.1 - chart: 2.0.1
- karma: 0.70
Kiali kiali 1.49.0 - chart: 1.49.0
- kiali: 1.49.0
Knative knative 0.3.9 - chart: 0.3.9
- knative: 0.22.3
Kube OIDC Proxy kube-oidc-proxy 0.3.1 - chart: 0.3.1
- kube-oidc-proxy: 0.3.0
Kube Prometheus Stack kube-prometheus-stack 33.1.6 - chart: 33.1.6
- prometheus-operator: 0.54.1
- prometheus: 2.33.4
- prometheus-alertmanager: 0.23.0
- grafana: 8.3.6
Kubecost kubecost 0.23.3 - chart: 0.23.3
- kubecost: 1.91.2
Kubefed kubefed 0.9.2 - chart: 0.9.2
- kubefed: 0.9.2
Kubernetes Dashboard kubernetes-dashboard 5.1.1 - chart: 5.1.1
- kubernetes-dashboard: 2.4.0
Kubetunnel kubetunnel 0.0.11 - chart: 0.0.11
- kubetunnel: 0.0.11
Logging Operator logging-operator 3.17.2 - chart: 3.17.2
- logging-operator: 3.17.2
Metallb metallb 0.12.3 - chart: 0.12.3
- metallb: 0.8.1
MinIO Operator minio-operator 4.4.10 - chart: 4.4.10
- minio-operator: 4.4.10
NFS Server Provisioner nfs-server-provisioner 0.6.0 - chart: 0.6.0
- nfs-server-provisioner: 2.3.0
Nvidia nvidia 0.4.4 - chart: 0.4.4
- nvidia-device-plugin: 0.1.4
Grafana (project) project-grafana-logging 6.22.0 - chart: 6.22.0
- grafana: 8.3.6
Grafana Loki (project) project-grafana-loki 0.33.1 - chart: 0.33.1
- loki: 2.2.1
Prometheus Adapter prometheus-adapter 2.17.1 - chart: 2.17.1
- prometheus-adapter: 0.9.1
Reloader reloader 0.0.104 - chart: 0.0.104
- reloader: 0.0.104
Thanos thanos 0.4.6 - chart: 0.4.6
- thanos: 0.17.1
Traefik traefik 10.9.1 - chart: 10.9.1
- traefik: 2.5.6
Traefik ForwardAuth traefik-forward-auth 0.3.8 - chart: 0.3.8
- traefik-forward-auth: 3.1.0
Velero velero 3.1.5 - chart: 3.1.5
- velero: 1.5.2

Additional resources

For more information about working with native Kubernetes, see the Kubernetes documentation.

For a full list of attributed 3rd party software, see d2iq.com/legal/3rd.